Visas for Italy

One of those questions you need to ask yourself when you’re making travel plans is, “Do I need a visa to get there?” For Italy, the list of countries where residents don’t need to have a visa to enter Italy is quite long – so that’s the good news.

For visits of up to 90 days, nationals from European Union (EU) countries and passport holders from the following countries do not need to have a visa to visit Italy: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Switzerland, U.S.A., Uruguay, Venezuela.

If your country isn’t one of those listed above (and it isn’t an EU country), then you’re going to have to get a visa before you leave home. You can learn how to apply for a visa to Italy on the Italian foreign ministry website. If you’re from Australia, you can take advantage of the special arrangement between Australia and Italy for “working holiday visas.” These are much easier to get than regular work visas in Italy, so be thankful! You can find out more from the Italian embassy in Canberra.




Italy is a Schengen country, the origin of which stems from a 1985 treaty between seven EU nations. Between Schengen countries, there are no border checkpoints or controls. To learn more about the Schengen countries and what it means for your visit to Italy, see this website.

Be sure to read more Italy visitor information before you leave!

Photo by: atrotwood

Related Content